Attack of the Vegan Zombies

Happy Monday, everyone!  

I tried out some new recipes the last few days.  All are vegan, if you don’t use the cheese!

  1. Salsa Verde Sliders with Avocado Mayo
    http://thetolerantvegan.com/2011/06/salsa-verde-sliders/

    These were excellent!  David really enjoyed them, and Ethan even had one.  (The boys did have provolone cheese on them.)  The avocado mayo was a nice touch on top of these yummy veggie burgers!

  2. Red Cabbage Slaw
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/bobby-flay/red-cabbage-slaw-recipe/index.html

    No, this is not the same red cabbage slaw that I posted the other day.  I needed to do something with the other half head of cabbage, so I looked for another recipe.  This one was also yummy, although I would definitely use one less clove of garlic.  I took some to work today and it stunk up my desk!  🙂

  3. Two Onion Soup
    This one isn’t “new” for me, as I have made it many times before.  But I dug it out after buying some leeks at the farmers’ market over the weekend.  I think it’s from You on a Diet, but I’m not positive.  If I made it again, I would probably halve the ingredients, since it did make a lot.  See the details below.

And an update on my wheat grass… 6″ and climbing.  I am amazed at how fast it grew.

wheat grass 2013-08-26

 

Two Onion Soup

1 T olive oil
2 onions, sliced
2 shallots sliced
1 leek (white & light green part only) sliced
8 cups chicken broth (I used vegetable stock)
salt & pepper, to taste
1/2 cup grated low-fat Swiss cheese (optional)

Heat oil in a large saucepan over medium-high heat.  Add onions; cook 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Stir in shallots and leek; continue cooking until golden brown, about 5 minutes.  Add stock; simmer uncovered 15 minutes.  Season to taste with salt & pepper, if desired.  Ladle into bowls; garnish with cheese, if desired.

Leave a Reply

