Wing and a Prayer

This weekend at church one of our pastors talked about his challenge with testicular cancer a few years ago and how prayer saved his life.  Not just spiritually and emotionally, but physically.  He spoke of the power of prayer (he literally had thousands of people praying for him) and how miraculous things happened with his cancer.  In addition to his testicular cancer, he had metastases in his liver and lungs, and a huge tumor on his kidney.  Things were not looking good for him.  But prayer turned that all around for him.

It made me really think about the power of prayer in my own life.   Prayer has always been a big part of my life, but starting down my second cancer diagnosis, prayer became an even greater part of my life than usual.  I do regularly talk to God throughout the day, praying for what many of us pray for — health and safety of my family, help with problems, financial security.  And I try to be really good about being grateful and thanking God for all that he has blessed me with.   We chat daily about cancer!  I pray for healing and the strength to keep making the right choices for my body.  I pray that people become more educated on the ways they can prevent cancer.  I pray that I can use this forum to inform and inspire people.  I pray for the wisdom to see what other changes I might need to make in my life.

And I do pray that the cancer leaves my body.  A friend at work a few weeks ago talked to me about how to pray to rebuke the cancer and to ask God to take it from me.  It was a way I had not looked at prayer before and I am grateful for her courage to have that conversation with me.  So my prayers are a little bit different these days.

It is interesting that, with cancer, it isn’t just about traditional medicine, or natural healing.  There is a mental and spiritual piece as well. My conversation with that friend, as well as this weekend’s teaching, have really made me focus on that part a lot more.  With all the things I have shared over the past year, I think it’s important to acknowledge the benefit of prayer in my continued journey.

For those of you who may be interested in hearing more about Pastor Wayne’s story, you can access it at the following website.  Look for the August 25th video titled “Pray”.

http://www.parkerhill.org/listen

2 thoughts on “Wing and a Prayer

  1. Wow Michele, I am very moved by Pastor Wayne.
    I too, like you, believe in the power of prayer and understand that along with modern medicine, there is a mental and spiritual side to it as well.

    I do have to admit, I’ve watched people suffer and wondered why some suffer so much and why some less. Why do some make it and some die?
    I loved his idea about the fact that he even let the idea of dying enter his mind and said even if he had, those prayers would do so many greater things to those left that had been praying. That is so true.

    We are all broken, no matter if we suffer from one ailment or the other, but God can fix broken stuff and if we have the guts to say “up”, He’ll lift us up.
    I loved that.

    • Thanks, Gina! I’m so glad you watched the video and got so much out of it. I was so impressed and inspired. His message certainly gave me even more hope than I already had! 🙂

Leave a comment