Starve

As an advocate for the concept of preventing cancer instead of trying to cure it after you’ve got it, I was excited to come across a TED talk featuring William Li, head of the Angiogenesis Foundation.  The talk is titled “Can we eat to starve cancer?” and I have provided the link below.  It is definitely worth watching, but if you don’t have time for the full 20 minutes, start at around minute 13 to see the section about diet and cancer.

http://www.ted.com/talks/william_li.html

While the rationale is slightly different than what I’ve read in “The China Study” and other books, the concept is the same:  Nourish your body.  Feed it healthy foods and it will do what it’s meant to for disease prevention.

The study of angiogenesis is related to the development of blood vessels from other blood vessels.  Your body grows new vessels, and pares them back, as needed, for things such as pregnancy and healing.  With cancer, that process gets messed up and the vessels grow out of control, feeding tumor/cancer.  The starvation concept is that if you cut off the blood supply, the cancer cannot survive.

There are currently a series of antiangiogenic drugs that are becoming more broadly considered in cancer treatment, but these are used after cancer has been diagnosed.  Taking this one step further, Dr. Li believes that you can prevent the growth of the cancer in the first place!  In the video, he does provide a list of foods excellent antiangiogenic foods, so I looked for that online as a reference.  I’m quite happy to say that the vast majority of these foods are now part of my regular diet!

Photobucket

Here’s the link to the full article:

http://www.standup2cancer.org/article_archive/view/foods_that_fight_cancer

Get started on starving those cancer cells!  Eat up!

4 thoughts on “Starve

  1. Oh great! Good for you. NutritionFacts.org does a daily (weekday) video which you can subscribe to if you’re interested in more stuff like that. Also, if you like to read, I highly recommend Anticancer: A New Way of Life by David Servan-Schreiber.

    • Thanks for the information! I have registered for NutritionFacts.org, so I appreciate the tip. As for the book, it sounded so familiar, so I checked my “library” and I already have it!!! Not sure how I didn’t read that one yet, as I have read so many. That will definitely be next on my reading list. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

