Bringing Up Baby

I took Ethan to his annual well visit today and received the confirmation that he is now officially the same size as me… at the ripe old age of 12.  He is 5’5 3/4″ (I’m 5’6″).  His weight is… well, we won’t go there.  Suffice to say that we have about 1/2 pound difference, and I’ll leave you to guess which one is heavier!  I’m still trying to those last 10 pounds off, so it’s a matter of days before he passes me out.

I love that he’s growing so big and tall, but I’m a little sad that my baby is gone.  I know he’ll always be my baby, but still, it’s all going too fast.  The good news is he passed his exam with flying colors.  He bragged about how juicing has improved his health this past year and how he had zero sick days.  Definitely something we’re proud of.

Day two with the new juicer went a little better.  I used it for both wheat grass and spinach today.  I did order my first wheat grass growing kit tonight.  There were a few options, but I selected a smaller, less expensive kit to get started.  In case it doesn’t go well for me, I didn’t want a huge investment in it.  Here’s the link to the one I ordered:

http://www.amazon.com/Organic-Wheatgrass-Growing-Trays-Instructions/dp/B0085XGAFI/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1376436036&sr=8-3&keywords=organic+wheatgrass+growing+kit

I tried the Coconut Curry Rice recipe in “The China Study Cookbook”.  Everyone enjoyed it, and it was pretty easy to make.  It took a little longer to cook (closer to 45 minutes) than the book said (30-35) but it was worth the wait.

2 thoughts on “Bringing Up Baby

  1. I luv reading about the recipies you tried! As I’ve said I’m slowly trying to go to an all plant-based diet. I have bfast pretty much down but now i’m working on snacks + dinner! That’s so cool that he can see/feel the differences in juicing. I def think it has helped me feel pretty “good” during my chemo treatments.

    take care!

    • Glad to hear the plant based diet is helping with chemo side effects. I had so many taste bud issues that nothing tasted good except sugar! (I ate lots of rice pudding!) It was hard for me to eat healthy. But now that treatment is behind me, I’m really embracing the plant based lifestyle. I think it’s the key to a healthier (and hopefully longer) life! Take care!

Leave a Reply

