Inspector Gadget

My diet transformation has resulted in the need for a lot more gadgets in the kitchen. Over the past year, I have acquired a juicer, a kickass food processor, and a dehydrator. I have upgraded my peeler and my measuring spoons, and I’m always on the look out for new devices. I’m looking for ways to make this home-cooking thing a little easier.

My latest purchases?

  • A pineapple corer. Not the typical corer that gives you one giant piece of pineapple. This one actually screws down into the pineapple making a spiral of the pineapple. All you need are two quick cuts with the knife and your pineapple is cored and sliced! Just remember to remove the center from the corer. I washed it once and forgot to remove that part. My husband found it when he was emptying the dishwasher. Oops!
  • Cutting mats. These are better than cutting boards, because they are pliable and it’s easier to pour your chopped items into a bowl.  And since they are bigger than my cutting boards, I have a little more room space to hold everything I’m chopping.
  • A new knife! I finally got myself a good knife. (Yes, good = expensive) I can’t believe I paid $78 for a knife, but I think it will chop the onions for me. 🙂 I have been wanting a “good” knife for a while… the kind with the rounded edge, so I can become a pro at chopping things. Hopefully my fingers will not be among the things I chop!  So far, so good.
  • Wheat grass juicer.  I just ordered this from Amazon because my centrifugal juicer doesn’t handle wheat grass very well.  It mostly throws it into the pulp bin.  Not that you can get a ton of juice out of wheat grass, but this device looks like it will help get the most out of it (as well as other leafy greens).  I’ll let you know how that goes once I actually receive it.

Now… all I need is some space to put all this…

Leave a Reply

