The Year of Living Dangerously

It was one year ago today that my breast cancer journey started.

July 27, 2012 is the day I went for an ultrasound to check out the cysts that I had in my right breast.  I had been regularly having mammograms and ultrasounds to watch these “cysts”.  My 2011 tests showed only the cysts and I was told to come back in a year.  I’m glad I didn’t wait the full year to have them checked again, but I wish I had followed up sooner.  When the density of the cysts changed, I should have gone back.  But I waited, as I was convinced they were cysts (I could feel them like a cluster of grapes), and no one seemed particularly concerned.

But lurking behind that clump of cysts was a tumor and it got pretty big before showing up on any tests.  During my 2012 ultrasound, the tech spent a lot of time looking around.  I was taking this all in stride until she said the doctor would have to look at it.  Uh oh.  And then when the doctor insisted that I have a biopsy done before I left for vacation in two days, I knew I was screwed.

The biopsy wasn’t too painful (thank God for numbing drugs); just the feeling of pressure as she took 4 samples and then added the clip to mark the tumor.  At that time, they thought the tumor was about 2-3 cm.  What a surprise it would be when we later found it was actually 8 cm!!!

And what a year it’s been…

2 thoughts on “The Year of Living Dangerously

  1. Do you want to talk. It sounds like I am reliving your life. I had a 7.2 cm lobular carcinoma and am doing chemo now. I only had one treatment so far. It sucks. I hit the wall yesterday and feel lousy. Please tell me you are ok.

    • Hi Betty,
      First, let me start by saying “yes”, I am ok! I am feeling great, living my life and feel pretty much back to normal. I do have some side effect from the Femara I am now taking, but I am trying to manage that with herbal supplements and such. I’ve made a lot of positive changes in my life, mostly around what I eat, and in some ways I feel better than I ever have.
      I’m sorry to hear you are feeling so lousy after only one treatment. Hopefully you recover quickly. What does your treatment plan look like? Did you have surgery? What chemo are you taking? What’s the schedule? I would definitely be interested in communicating with you. If you want to reach out via email, my personal email is race588@yahoo.com.
      Hang in there!
      Michele

Leave a Reply

