The Recipe

I wasn’t sure what to do with the giant zucchini I mentioned yesterday, so I decided zucchini boats might be a good idea.  I searched and searched for a recipe on line but couldn’t find one that I both like and had the ingredients for.  So I made my own recipe, as follows:

Cut zucchini lengthwise & scoop out the seeds (remember, this one was huge, so I had lots of seeds!).  I did also remove some of the zucchini flesh to add to the filling.

Lightly drizzle with olive oil and sprinkle with Himalayan sea salt.

Bake at 350 for 30 minutes (varies depending on size of zucchini).

I made the following filling:

Zucchini flesh, diced
Tomatoes, diced
Small yellow pepper, diced
Kalamata olives, diced
minced garlic (to taste)
chopped pine nuts
fresh basil, chopped
1 T balsamic vinegar

Once zucchini boats start getting softer, add mixture to boats, sprinkle with preferred seasoning (I also sprinkled nutritional yeast on them) and bake for another 10 minutes.

They were really tasty, although I think I needed a higher volume of the stuffing.  Really proud of my first self-made vegan recipe!

I was also proud of myself for going out for breakfast with my husband and stepdaughter this morning and only ordering the fruit cup!  🙂

photo (23)

2 thoughts on “The Recipe

    • Yes, I think rice would definitely have made it better. I will admit that I thought of it but was too lazy!!! I did include the pine nuts. I didn’t think I would be a fan, but I am liking them! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

