Baby Boom

I am so proud of my little garden and I have babies galore!  Baby zucchinis.  Baby pumpkins.  Baby tomatoes.

Gardening was a bit of an experiment for me, as prior attempts have failed miserably due to neglect.  I would just forget to water them, and they would fry in the backyard, which has no shade.  I guess becoming vegetarian and reading up on the benefits of home grown, organic produce has made me a lot more attentive, because most of my plants are thriving.

There are a few exceptions.  The cucumbers were off to a slow start but seem to be coming along.  The first batch of lettuce would have been ok if not for the dog burying her rawhide in that container.  The peas?  I’m not really sure.  They are growing but the plants are starting to turn yellow.  I’m not sure if I’m watering them too much or too little, or maybe there is something else wrong.  I’ll have to watch those.

I thought the following tips from Take Part were helpful in making your fruits and veggies last longer. I posted something similar a while ago, but this one had a few additional tips I had not seen previously.

http://www.takepart.com/photos/waste-less-food-fruit-vegetables

Happy gardening!

Baby zucchinis…

photo (19)

Baby pumpkins..

photo (20)

Baby tomatoes…

photo (22)

Baby mommas!  🙂

photo (21)r

2 thoughts on “Baby Boom

  1. Beautiful garden!! Pick those zucchini and pumpkin flowers early in the morning so the bugs are out of them, and make pancakes! 🙂 Flour, eggs, Romano or parmesan cheese, and a little bit of parsley and/or basil. You can fry, but if you don’t like frying (like me) you can make the batter thicker and bake them, I bet. I have never done that, but I think it might work! You can also make a batter and dip them and fry. I bet the dipping would work well for baking on a cookie sheet! Mmmmmmm! 🙂

    • We had pumpkin flowers the other night! So yummy!!! I don’t want to pull too many because I want to make sure I have veggies growing! But I could definitely go for some more! 🙂 Mmmmmmm is right!

Leave a Reply

