Dr. Strangelove

Today was my one month follow up appointment with my radiologist.  As with all prior visits to NROC, today was also a very pleasant experience.  It started quite nicely with a compliment by the woman at the reception desk.  I was startled when she yelled “Oh my God!” but then she explained that she had noticed my age on my chart and was shocked.  I asked because I didn’t know if that was a good thing or a bad thing!  Turns out she would have pegged me for “at least” 10 years younger.  Yea!  My new friend!!

I had a great conversation with the nurse, who shared some great ideas for things to do if we should decide to vacation in San Francisco this summer.  We also chatted about herbal supplements, since I had to list them and she was very interested in what they all did.  I love being able to educate people!

When Dr. Peters arrived, he was his usual peppy self.  I was reading “The Omnivore’s Dilemma” when he came in and he was very excited about that.  He called in one of the other nurses, who apparently was into Michael Pollen’s books, and we shared our thoughts on those we have both read.  Dr. Peters continued to question me about what I have learned and what steps I have taken.  We discussed my vegetarian (wannabe vegan) diet, the contamination of the American food supply, and good vegetarian recipes.  He recommended a great Lebanese restaurant in Scranton that I will definitely have to check out.

Oh, and I’m fine!  🙂

The good news is I don’t have to go back to see him for six months.  The nurses said that meant I was doing really well, since most people have to go back in 3 months.

While there, I did go visit my favorite radiation technician, Colleen, and a few of the other girls.  It was great to see them and we shared hugs.  We’re worried that they won’t recognize me when I go back in six months, because I will have a full head of hair!  🙂  It was great to see them and to feel the love while I was there!

Leave a Reply

