The Day After

My car wanted to turn right onto the highway tonight, and it took some conscious thinking to turn left to head home.  It was a little weird not to leave work at 3:00 or to go to radiation.  I only stayed at work a little later than usual; I don’t want to jump back into bad habits of too-long hours.

I was completely overwhelmed by the outpouring of good wishes last night and all day today.  Between Facebook posts and blog posts, there were many words that brought me to tears.  I am very blessed to have so many people in my corner, and I am touched by your kindness.  I am glad that so many of you have found my writing to be inspirational and educational.  That is so much more than I could ever have hoped when I started this little back in August.  I think it’s great that so many of us are now able to have life-changing conversations about our health (yes, let’s focus on prevention!!!), the food industry, and the cancer industry.

At work today, we held our “healthy team” meeting and I was thrilled to see that the group is expanding with every meeting.  Today we publicly stated our wide-array of health goals.  My two goals:  to drop 20 pounds by adopting a plants-based lifestyle (I am about half-way to that goal), and to increase my activity level now that treatment is over.  Since I had been doing my 20 minute baths every night, I figured I had no excuse.  I simply plan to replace my bath time with exercise time.  I know 20 minutes may not seem like a lot to you exercise nuts (and you know who you are!), but considering my level of INactivity the past 7 months, it’s a huge step forward.

So tonight, I managed some “restorative yoga” from Kris Carr’s “Crazy, Sexy Cancer” video.  All I can say is “ouch”!!  Stretching out all these muscles is definitely going to take some time!

Clip Art Graphic of a Pink Guy Character

 

Thank you again for your support, encouragement, prayers, good wishes, hugs, and love!

Leave a Reply

