Blow

Quite a hectic day today.  It started out with a 7:50 appointment at the oncologist’s for a genetic counseling session.  True to form for this office, I actually got called in for the appointment at 8:30.  Grr.  It was interesting how the PA walked us through the whole process of determining if there were any linkages in my family history to determine if I should have actual genetic testing.  As it turns out, despite a lot of colon cancer on both sides of my family, there was no evident linkage to warrant doing the testing.  (If no linkage, insurance would not cover this $4000 test.)   There was some discussion about a possible linkage between my breast and kidney cancers, but after reviewing the pathology from my kidney cancer, it was determined that it wasn’t the right type of cancer.  So we learned that my two cancers were not related to anything genetic and were likely caused by environmental factors.

After that appointment, I was slated to have labs and my port flushed.  So I waited a bit to get the port done, and then before I knew it, the nurse had removed the needles from my port without actually having drawn any blood.  (This was after I reminder the nurse that I needed my labs done, and she went to get the vials.)  So then I had to wait again in the lab for them to draw my blood through my arm.  *sigh*  So much for getting back to work quickly.

Today was my first day with my new team, and I had a few great meetings with them and started moving into my new office.  Busy day!

After work, I had radiation #23.  I am almost down to single digits!!  I have been struggling with a cold or sinus thing for the past few days, so it was really challenging trying to lay perfectly still and praying I didn’t sneeze or have to blow my nose!

Ethan and I had to do some heavy-duty shopping after radiation, as we were completely out of fruits and vegetables!  So we are all stocked up now.  With Ethan in tow, I ended up with even more produce than I planned.  As a result, we had an amazing juice tonight.  I wanted to load up on vitamins to help with my cold, so we threw in the works:  3 oranges, 4 apples, a pear, a nectarine, pineapple, a cucumber, 3 celery stalks, 3 carrots, and a red beet.  It was DElicious, and packed with good nutrients.

I’ve also loaded up on echinacea; I hope it all kicks in soon!  My poor nose is so sore!!  It’s been running constantly since I got home tonight.

3 thoughts on “Blow

  1. Almost there, Michele, almost there! What a long road you’ve traveled already. You even made your own journey educational for many, many others. How many people’s lives have you changed with all the nutritional information? I know mine was changed, and I would guess many, many more. You are an inspiration.

  2. Sorry about the unnecessary blood draw! 😦 You are such a trooper!
    The fruits/veg/juice sounds amazing. 😀

Leave a Reply

