The Sixth Sense

Round six is hitting me a little harder than the others. I guess the cumulative effects are catching up. This is the first time I had to take a nap on the day after chemo (2 1/2 hours!).  I probably would have slept longer but I had to go for my last $100 Neulasta shot.  It was nice to get applause and (sanitized) hand shakes from all the nurses.  It’s great to know they all care so much.

My tummy is a little iffy today. I’m struggling to find something that seems remotely interesting to eat.  I can’t remember needing a compazine on the day after either, but I am seriously considering taking one.  (I tend to avoid them because they make me more tired.)  I am currently sipping on my juice, and I had two green smoothies today. I’m hoping the added nutrition helps keep me strong.

My last complaint for the evening is that I have been freezing all day.  Those of you who know me know that I am always warm, so this being cold is foreign to me.  I have one of Ethan’s jackets on and am wrapped in a blanket.  I took my temperature to make sure I didn’t have a fever and it was only 98.8.  That’s a little high for me, since my normal temp is 97.6, but well below anything of concern.  This is quite contrary to the night sweats that I had all night; I was drenched.

I am looking forward to a day of test tomorrow.  Although I do have some work-related tasks to get done, there will be plenty of time for sleep.  Here’s hoping round six effects exit quickly.

Leave a Reply

