Next

We stayed up until about 1:00 AM last night taking down the Christmas tree and all the decorations.  The only thing we left up are the lights and garland in the balcony.  I just think it’s so pretty and not really in anyone’s way, so I’ll keep that up a little while longer.  But I must say that today, I am now completely wiped out.  I slept until almost 11:00 and now, only 3 hours later, I am ready for a nap.  I guess the PA was right that I am “de-conditioned” because moving furniture around and taking decorations down never bothered me before.  I didn’t even do the up-and-down the stairs; David did all that.  Thankfully, David was up earlier and helped out with laundry and such, so that was a great help.

We are looking forward to dinner with friends tonight.  I always enjoy their great company and some good laughs.

The final countdown is on… 4 more days until my last chemo!  I really can’t wait to be done!  I have so many questions for the doctor (who I will see for only the 4th time) about what happens next.  I am supposed to have genetic screening and a consultation with the radiologist, as I have mentioned.  They will have to have a really compelling argument to convince me to do radiation.  At this point, I am completely against.

Also, I am anxious to know when my hair will start coming back, as well as my energy levels.  I really miss those.   When can I get my portacath removed?  I was hoping for “soon”, but David said that they had previously mentioned keeping it for a year in case I decide to do reconstruction.  I’m not really sure how the portacath would help that, unless they are thinking they would just remove it when they do reconstruction.  But at this point, I am not even considering that.  I really just want to move on from doctors and pain and treatment… and just be normal.  Having major reconstructive surgery and being sidelined again for recovery doesn’t constitute normal for me, so for now (and maybe forever?), it’s still not a priority.

Lastly, I just want to wish my big brother a Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

