The Goodbye Girl

Good bye, 2012!  Helloooo 2013!

Happy New Year, everyone!   I don’t know about all of you, but I am ready for 2013!  It’s a shame, really, that cancer has given 2012 some what of a bad rap from my perspective.  There were so many other great things during 2012 that got a little overshadowed.  There was the fun trip to New Orleans for a friend’s wedding, my 50th birthday celebration, and our trip to Disney.  And as I listed out in my Thanksgiving blog, I have so many things for which to be grateful.  Wonderful family, amazing friends, a job I love, a beautiful home… the list goes on.  2012 was good to me in so many ways.

But still, this thing called cancer hangs over my head and I’m ready to move on.  So despite 2012’s high points, I am glad to see it go.  Now, I feel like I just need to get through January and maybe life will get back just a hint of normalcy.  Tired of feeling tired, I am looking forward to having some energy again.  I look forward to growing my hair back and am excited about the prospects of what I might actually do with it.  Having experienced baldness, I feel a little more daring in the prospects of style.  I can’t wait for the full return of my taste buds, which will allow me to get back into my healthy habits.  I have so many recipes and new gadgets that I’m ready to try out.  And I’m ready to take on new challenges at work.

Our New Year celebration was quite fun — family game night and lots of laughs.  I managed to stay up until midnight, thanks to the help of an afternoon nap.  But I am still paying for it a little bit today.  After traditional pork and sauerkraut dinner (I ate very little pork), I needed a nap today too.

Tomorrow is the return to our regular routine and neither I nor Ethan are ready for it.  The thoughts of getting up so early again is depressing to us both.  It will only be a half-day for me at work, since I have my weekly labs and PA visit, followed by an orthodontist appointment for Ethan.  Bottom braces, perhaps?  So a busy day ahead.

A friend of mine from college shared the following link with me.  There definitely seems to be some great healthy recipes, so I wanted to share with all of you.  You can also subscribe to a weekly newsletter.  Thanks, Carla!

http://www.stumbleupon.com/su/2nYMmW/:bPNEF4XJ:G9tn@ox1/www.whfoods.com/recipestoc.php?flinc[]=50&flinc[]=9&flinc[]=21&flinc[]=98&nlinc=0/

 

One thought on “The Goodbye Girl

  1. You are certainly welcome, Michele! I hope there are some good recipes you can use. HAPPY NEW YEAR! 🙂

Leave a Reply

