Lemon Tree

Today was a much better work-from-home day.  I at least had several meetings throughout the day which broke up the silence.  A coworker and I had success in a presentation we had to do, so more funding for our special project.  It always feels good to have things work out that way after a lot of hard work already.  I even had a really good interview, so in all, it was a good day.

I did try the warm water and lemon first thing this morning.  I will admit it was tough going down so early in the morning, but I did it.  I know it’s too early to say “it’s working” but I definitely felt a difference in a few areas.  It may, however, have been responsible for some heartburn that I had throughout the day, although I get that sometimes anyway so I guess it isn’t fair to blame a little water and lemon juice.  My dad got me a fresh supply of lemons, so I definitely want to see if I can keep this up for a bit and see if it does make a difference.

The heartburn and crazy tastebuds made it challenging to find something to eat today.  I made whole wheat noodles, but they felt like they got stuck in my throat.  I tried some individual-size Stove Top stuffing which was ok, but not great.  Then the good stuff came:  Mom made a banana-pineapple bread (of which I ate half already) and rice pudding.  Trust me, I know these things are not quite what I planned to be eating, but desperate times bring desperate measures!  Calories are important these days, and we’ll work on healthier eating in the better days ahead.

I read a great article today on Dr. Andrew Weil, in my Whole Living magazine.  He says there are five basic steps for achieving and maintaining good health:  “Be physically active; deal with stress; get good rest; make appropriate use of preventative medical services; and avoid processed industrial foods.”  He has several books, and restaurants, so I’ll have to check them out.  There were a few accompanying recipes that looked good also.

Good news – only 1 Christmas card left to write out!

Leave a Reply

