The Dress

Sorry!  No blog yesterday.  I sort of slept through the day and didn’t quite get to it.  I did, however, write out 50 Christmas cards (well, they’re addressed, at least).  Progress!

Today has been a lazy day.  I’m not feeling nauseous, so I’m not taking the Compazine, which means I’m not as sleepy as usual.  But I’m still not feeling terribly motivated.  There are the rest of those Christmas cards to get to, and I should pay some bills, but all I feel like doing is lying on the couch.  So that’s been most of the day, and surprisingly, it’s flying by.

The one thing I did do is try on some dresses to see if I had anything to wear to David’s work Christmas party next weekend.  With the volume of dresses in my closet, you would think I could find something, but it was harder than I thought.  Several were ruled out because the straps don’t cover my portacath and scar.  Some were close, but I didn’t think I would be comfortable, worrying about the straps slipping.  Several were ruled out because they were looking for cleavage where I currently have none.  I don’t even think “prosthetics” were going to help those.  That left a few that technically fit, but I just didn’t like the way they looked.  With the recent changes in my seromas, I have some additional swelling (or whatever you want to call it) under my armpits, so I look like an Olympic swimmer with the broadness across my chest (and minus the tiny waist).  At any rate, I found one or two that will “work” so at least I don’t have to go shopping this week.  The big decision now is weather to wear my wig or my scarf to the party….  I haven’t worn my wig in about 6 weeks, so that will be weird, but yet, not sure a chemo scarf sets the appropriate holiday tone.

One of the benefits of blogging is connecting with other women dealing with breast cancer.  This was a great post that I read today and just wanted to share.  While the song was written by Robin’s husband, I could relate to so many of the words.  Robin, hope you don’t mind me sharing!
http://pinkrobin.wordpress.com/2012/11/03/my-most-precious-birthday-gift/

Thanks again, to Sandy and Lester, for the week’s worth of dinners for my family, as well as Mom and Dad!  We’ve eaten well, and have leftovers enough to get us through a few more days!  It was very generous of you, and I appreciate all the time you put into it.

2 thoughts on “The Dress

  1. I’m sure you will look beautiful in which ever dress you choose!! 🙂 Have a great time at David’s party.

Leave a Reply

