Five Easy Pieces

Ok, so only two…

Eating healthy while living a very busy life is hard.  So when I discover a yummy, healthy snack or a new quick meal, I’m very excited!  Tonight I did both.

A few weeks ago, I had purchased black bean tortilla chips from Way Better Snacks.  I hadn’t opened them yet and tonight, after work, orthodontist, and piano lessons, I needed a quick fix when I got home.  I made some homemade guacamole and finally tried these snacks.  They were delicious!!!  Healthy AND yummy!  Sign me up.  These snacks contain stone ground corn, sunflower oil, organic sprouted black beans, organic sprouted flax seed, organic sprouted quinoa, and pure sea salt.  Nothing else!  No trans fat, no preservatives, no artificial colors.  Per their website (http://www.gowaybetter.com/), they have several other flavors which I will definitely try.

After my yummy snack, I made some whole grain pasta with olive oil and chopped kalamata olives.  Also very yummy.  Quick, easy and my taste buds and tummy are happy.

Ethan and I tried some strawberries in our juicing tonight; made for a nice change to our “usual”.

Tomorrow I’m back to the doctor for blood work and a visit with the PA.  I think I’m going to skip the portacath this week and just go with the standard needle stick.  That would give me one more week to let the swelling go down.  While the healing is better, there are still a few sensitive spots.

I think I have discovered the mystery of sleep, thanks to my new blogging friend, Lydia.  She had suggested that the restlessness in my legs might be related to the Neulasta shot.  As you may remember, the Neulasta causes bone pain, and although I wasn’t in any pain, there was definitely something going on with joints and so forth.  So, as recommended to combat the Neulata pain, when I awoke at 11 PM, I tried the Claritan.  That seems to have done the trick, as I slept straight through from midnight til 5:00 AM.  So tonight I’ll be trying that again!  Fingers crossed that that is the charm!

One thought on “Five Easy Pieces

Leave a Reply

