The Long Good Friday

I think I overdid it yesterday. I got a lot done, but was on the move from 5:30 a.m. until midnight…with no nap! I was up early again this morning to head to Misericordia University to support my stepdaughter, Marina, in her cross country meet (she came in second after an outstanding race!) so I think another long day is on tap!

Yesterday started with a visit to my beloved naturalist. I want to be like her when I grow up! She’s one of the most amazing women I know: smart, kind, serene, and committed to making people’s lives better. She always takes her time with us, never making us feel like she’s got somewhere else to be. Yesterday was no exception as she spent 3 hours with my mom and me.

My spleen was out of whack but she felt that was related to my flu shot the prior day. I learned that the spleen is the major organ of the lymphatic system. And all this time I thought the spleen was one of those useless organs, right up there with the appendix.

We spent a lot of time talking about cancer and she provided many useful articles on supplements and food sources with anti-cancer properties. My supplement regime during chemo will include vitamin D, ESSIAC tea, red beet root formula, probiotic 11, and a few things for thyroid and hormonal support.

Of course, I can’t take any of it until after Tuesday. I received my date for my portacath implant and they don’t let you take any supplements leading up to that procedure, similar to my surgery.

Mom and I went out for lunch after our naturalist appointments: yummy salads at Friendly’s (AND we passed on the ice cream!). We went to Nibbles & Bits to order some goodie bags to send out to the nurses at the hospital. (After my experiences with Ray’s leukemia, I believe that nurses are unsung heroes and don’t get nearly enough praise or recognition.) Don’t worry, though, as we got some goodies for ourselves.

By this time, we had to head home to get Ethan off the school bus and send him off to his dad’s for the weekend. Now normally I would have been ready for my nap, but instead I made the trek to Wegmans to stock up on healthy foods. An hour and $180 later, my car was loaded with more fruits, veggies and grains than my kitchen has ever seen. I’m still struggling with where to store it all.

My purchases included rice milk and almond milk. I want to try to wean Ethan off cows’ milk, especially considering how much milk he drinks.

I bought nuts and seeds for healthy snacking (and if I don’t like them, at least the local squirrels will be happy!).

Produce: I added fresh beets (Joanne, I’m determined to juice those) and kale (which I’m sure I will figure out what to do with eventually) to the already huge list of apples, pears, oranges, radishes, celery, cucumbers, carrots, blueberries, and bananas. So you see why space is an issue! But with starting back to work, I need to do some mass cooking and other preparations on Sunday to be on the offense for eating healthy next week.

I spent the night unloading the car, putting everything away, juicing, making a fruit salad for today’s post-race cookout, doing laundry, and catching up in work emails prior to my return. Midnight came too quick and my butt is dragging a little bit today.

I am writing this blog on my treasured iPhone, freezing my butt off in an open field in Dallas, PA. I’m glad to be here to support Marina but will never understand my husband’s need to be here 1 1/2 hours before the race!

Enjoy the sunshine everyone! I need to wrap up before my battery dies!

6 thoughts on “The Long Good Friday

  1. I did the ESSIAC tea. Wasn’t bad. Also did lots of red clover tea…did she mention that one?….try to make kale chips…I’ve seen some recipes on line for them and it seems like alot of people like them. My mom just had kale in veggie chili and said it was very good.

    • Luckily they have the ESSIAC tea in a capsule now so I don’t have to drink it. And I actually bought a bag of kale chips at Wegmans. Haven’t tried them yet. I’ll have to learn how to make something quick ‘cuz it’s a BIG bag! 🙂

Leave a Reply

